shawnv Hi, I found this ad and it seems quite dodgy as they are using Steve Vai's collection in the pic... http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/green-point-waterfront/studio-guitar-collection/1001215498140910007172409
GuitarDoge I think it could be legitimate and he's just using a random pic. Ask for prices, check if they're realistic, get serial numbers and pics of individual guitars if you're interested.
GuitarDoge By the way if you're not interested and just want to warn others there's a thread for Gumtree fraud under the special offers section if you see anything dodgy in the future.
V8 I'm passingly familiar with this advertiser "Jean". Not a nigerian scammer, I've seen a few of the guitars he has listed in the past - but sometimes I have felt the items were described with some hyperbole ??? He advertised a 1991 Parker Fly that I took a interest in, when I asked how it could be a 1991 (AFAIK production only started 93/4) he replied it was a pre-production model handmade by Mr Parker himself...I didn't bother going to have a look.
morph 100% fraud that same image is in fact fro m Stevie Vai's collection http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/GALLERY_Inside_Steve_Vais_Harmony_Hut_Studio
free2rhyme I wouldn't jump to conclusions, I've chatted to him on facebook. He was selling his gear on SA Music store. If I remember correctly he was selling a mesa boogie amp. He injured his elbow and is getting rid of his stuff. I never had the opportunity to meet him or see the collection, but as common practice dictates, always see the goods before you buy.
V8 I have met this fellow in person, he did have a few items on consignment at the Gear Junkie where I bumped into him. A real seller, but imho, many of his offerings have been advertised with a significant amount of hyperbole :-\
flatfourfan Greg Perkins wrote 100% fraud that same image is in fact fro m Stevie Vai's collection http://www.premierguitar.com/articles/GALLERY_Inside_Steve_Vais_Harmony_Hut_Studio easy there tiger...........he just seems to have taken a generic stock pic for his advert. I've done it before as well.
morph Using stock pic to sell your Fender is one thing, but a wall full of Stevie Vais guitars, creating the image that these are the guitars for sale is another. Tiger rests his case