VellaJ I could be wrong, but this seems suspicious. http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-other/boksburg/cort-cl1500-guitar/1001186942980910124045109 The pictures of the guitar come from: http://www.wikizic.org/Cort-CL-1500/gallery-1.htm http://www.guitariste.com/forums/profil,materiel,44511.html Very easy to find on a Google search of the guitar...
studmissile The Flextone looks legit ...but the Gibson? http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/centurion/gibson-and-line6-flextone3-amp/1001203194100910020049209
el-guapo Fakity fake fake. The guitar, that is. Wouldn't know about the amp. The price and description should put you on high alert. 10k for a toppish end Line 6 AND an LP Custom in apparently good nick? Also hardly a "starter" guitar (a real one). It's not the worst fake by any means, but my top few on the basis of bad photos are: - the body shape is a bit off, especially in the cutaway; - the case is a style that the fakers seem stuck on (as far as I know the custom shop ditched this design yeeeeears ago and unless the photo is squished it's just plain wrong); - the case bulge is more exaggerated than I've seem; - the trussrod cover looks like it's too big; - split diamond inlay is wrong: cross bar edges should be parallel to edges of the diamond bits; - font on the trussrod cover looks wrong; - Gibson logo is too low; - tuners are squished down too far towards the bottom of the headstock; - headstock shape looks wrong (too wide at the lower/nut-end flange). The knobs are from a Standard, but on their own that mightn't necessarily be a giveaway: Customs have had every knob under the sun and people change them sometimes.
DaFiz Real or fake ? I see someone on facebook asking. Looks like a fake to me, but then again, I'm no expert. http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/kempton-park/gibson-les-paul-guitar-for-sale/1001207818060910021052109
studmissile What a stir! http://www.guitarforum.co.za/general-discussion/is-this-a-fake-gibson/msg260559/?topicseen#msg260559
V8 studmissile wrote What a stir! http://www.guitarforum.co.za/general-discussion/is-this-a-fake-gibson/msg260559/?topicseen#msg260559 Quite a thread on FB's SA music store page too. Wonder if the seller cares?
chris77 The scheisters are trying to earn a few bucks for Christmas again... http://postmasburg.olx.co.za/duesenberg-dcaster-ssh-iid-748974818 http://calvinia.olx.co.za/olivier-fanton-d-andon-concert-classical-guitar-mint-new-calton-flight-case-iid-742029868 http://calvinia.olx.co.za/gibson-les-paul-standard-2005-tobacco-burst-exellent-condition-iid-746933053 http://postmasburg.olx.co.za/gibson-les-paul-custom-iid-748988540 Guitars in the ads were taken from ads in the UK, US and Australia.
studmissile http://pretoria.olx.co.za/gibson-iid-768874775 http://johannesburg.olx.co.za/original-1958-fender-stratocaster-iid-768860637 Whats your take on these?
Wormwood weird looking les paul standard?: http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/sea-point-three-anchor-bay/gibson-les-paul-2005-standard-desert-burst-electric-guitar/1001229216410910010411909
morph It's an ebay image. If he owns the guitar why use an image from somewhere else "http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/ODAwWDUzMw==/z/QtkAAOSw1ZBUsUk9/$_20.JPG"
studmissile Ebay bought gumtree a while back? so you can't base is on http://i.ebayimg.com? Thats how gumtree stores its uploaded images? I think this is legit? But check it out first.
Nitebob Wormwood wrote weird looking les paul standard?: http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/sea-point-three-anchor-bay/gibson-les-paul-2005-standard-desert-burst-electric-guitar/1001229216410910010411909 This guy has quite a few guits on gumtree, his pricing is always market related, never sells cheapies, and they always shine like a diamond in a goats....well you know the expression. He always has different guitars on for different lengths of time. He struggled a while back te get an Epiphone EL-00 sold. ALWAYS be carefull, but the guy seems legit.
psyx This does not look good... http://html5.m.olx.co.za/orange-amplifiers-tiny-terror-15w-hand-wired-guitar-hea-iid-793975500 Edit: More of the same post http://html5.m.olx.co.za/fender-65-twin-reverb-tube-guitar-combo-amp-85-w-2x12-iid-793970551
peterleroux psyx wrote This does not look good... http://html5.m.olx.co.za/orange-amplifiers-tiny-terror-15w-hand-wired-guitar-hea-iid-793975500 Edit: More of the same post http://html5.m.olx.co.za/fender-65-twin-reverb-tube-guitar-combo-amp-85-w-2x12-iid-793970551 I haven't kept up with all the name changes in Mpumalanga, but Kualar Langat is a Malaysian place name. At best these guys are drop-shipping from Malaysia, at worst it's a straight scame
DaFiz When I go checkout an "as new" guitar that's only been played 5 times... and the fret wear is glaringly obvious... ☹ http://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/durbanville/cort-earth-semi-acoustic-as-new-beautiful-guitar/1001719657650910001674609
Averatu Anyone come across a Scottish sounding guy on Gumtree who claims to be a one man band in Witbank? He offered more than the asking price, but he's been straining me along for days now, first collecting, then courier, then cash then transfer not clearing.
SC https://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/city-centre/telecaster-squire/1002062595820910165721109 This one is dodgy. He's in Phoenix, Durban. 0832777517 - GT (Govender) He has a few ads now. One was removed by Gumtree.
SC https://www.gumtree.co.za/a-musical-instruments/mosselbaai/fender-and-ibanez-marshall-and-bugera/1002020193410910041351109 This is Richard, who changes Squier labels to Fender. 0714216013 Mossel Bay